nothing too girly

Its still early in the day but I have already learned some important lessons.  One – getting up a little early to make blueberry pancakes is always a very smart idea.  Two – don’t wait until you’ve already been outside and in public for 30 minutes before checking to see if your trousers are on inside out.  And three – don’t wait until the day you need to post a handmade gift to take pretty outdoor photos.  Because um, it’s pouring.

And so I know I promised knitting this time, but its going to be a (different) finished quilt instead.  This has probably been my most productive quilt-making year ever, though I’ve still only made a handful.  But this one was my favourite – a quilt for my brother and his wife for when they got married in May, though I was a little late getting it to them.  But they knew it was coming, and my brothers’ only design/colour request was ‘nothing too girly.’

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just some simple log cabin blocks, in lots of fabrics I love.  It started as a little pile of Japanese prints in beautiful, rich dark blues, and then they met up with a little bundle of neutrals from Ray Stitch.  A few things were added from stash, including the gorgeous bird hand-print you can see in the second last picture (I’d been hoarding that one for a while).  The backing was a duvet cover* I spied in Ikea that I thought would be perfect and it all came together to make something lovely.

*oooh I just realised I have enough left to make a new curtain for my craft room…

10 thoughts on “nothing too girly

  1. This is great! I really want to try a quilt! And here you are quilting up a storm this year. They are really beautiful and I like how you put the colours and textures together.

  2. It’s beautiful! I like your idea to use an Ikea duvet for the back– they have some nice ones and they make a soft backing. You’ve made an interesting graphic design with the log cabin pattern. Very nice!

Leave a Reply

