my Rhinebeck sweater

Now I’m back to my normal, cooler climate its time to pull out the serious knitwear.  And light the fire in the evenings again (joy!), something that Penny seemed to particularly approve of last night…

With 15 seconds to get dressed this morning before we all ran outside I grabbed my Artichoke French by the lovely Laura Nelkin that I managed to get finished up in Shetland a few weeks ago.  Wow this thing is cosy!  It has thumbholes! And lovely cables!  I have only good things to say about this pattern and design.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I look either moody or silly in most of the photos for some reason, I really do love it in every way!  There was a plan to take some new smiley ones, but I am overjoyed that as things are still going to plan, the fit of the sweater now is um, not quite the way it was intended to be and its verging on being unfit to wear in public.  Completely fine for working in at home, and it keeps my hands cosy while I type.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
If you’re going to Rhinebeck this weekend I hope you have a lovely time!  Breathe in those wool fumes for me!  I’ve made a start on another sweater from Ysolda’s new book.  Well, the actual plan was to knit the whole thing on holiday and I carted 10 balls of yarn around in my suitcase.  It turns out that knitting a wool sweater while lying on a sun lounger beside a pool wasn’t really that smart an idea, so I’m working away slowly now I’m home!  And so, progress on my Pumpkin Ale, though there’s a little more of it now -

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Working for Ysolda has some nice perks, like getting patterns a little early…but soon they will be available for knitters everywhere!  Both my sweaters are knit in New Lanark, the chunky for Artichoke French and the DK for Pumpkin Ale.  Maybe a little samey, but as its spun just 20 minutes drive from my house I’m not too bothered, and its lovely to knit with too…

8 thoughts on “my Rhinebeck sweater

  1. You are beaming… sweater? What sweater ! All I see is a really seriously happy, healthy person, with a smile that dazzles ! (Oh , darling sweater too I guess, and the first I’ve seen of a sweater & handwear hybrid. )

  2. Great sweater. I too love cables. I especially love cables that move. You know, ones that follow the contours of your sleeves, rather than go straight up. It is nice to see you in blue again! I love that colour and I must try that wool. Have a good one!

  3. It looks great! I downloaded the look book and would love to knit every single pattern! Can’t wait to have the book on my hands. I am knitting the blank canvas sweater with the new Lanark at the moment and I love this yarn!

  4. Lovely sweater and very familiar view. I think you must have been almost our next door neighbours for your visit in Shetland – we live in a house up a track just behind the big white house at the back of the Nortower chalets. Small world – If you’re ever there again you must come in for a cuppa!

  5. It’s a gorgeous jumper – I love the built in handwarmers – and both the blue and the purple are just luscious colours! Oh and the best thing about wool – it stretches.

  6. Pingback: Seven days, seven links | Knitted Art

Leave a Reply

