a big little quilt

IMG_0612

Three of the four little girls I mentioned in my last post have a quilt of their own, made and gifted in time for their arrival into the world.  Of course there were plans for little Emily to have one too, but her early arrival combined with not just another baby to make one for, but one that I had to actually look after too, meant things got a little behind.

It started off with a pile of 4 inch squares, as many as I could cut from the fabric scraps I’d chosen.  Piecing began, but soon I realised that an actual plan was going to be required.  I did a little drawing and kept on going.  It’s a little bigger than I imagined, more of a first-bed size than baby shaped.  Hopefully that’ll just mean that it’ll be in use for longer.

And it feels so good to be back at my sewing machine!  I’ve accepted that I enjoy patchwork and quilting so much more than garment making, and I’m going to stop feeling guilty about it.  There’s no rule that says that because I sew, I have to make clothes…

IMG_0613

 

7 thoughts on “a big little quilt

  1. Looks lovely, so neat. Have you sewn any baby clothes ? I have been making jersey tops and leggings for a friends forthcoming arrival. They are so satisfying to make and quick too, a bit addictive actually :-)

  2. That is beautiful, what a lucky little girl. I’m sure it will be treasured but be warned it might get dragged around everywhere (like the Debbie Abrahams blanket I did for our little boy – he is now 5 but it still spends a lot of time being dragged around everywhere!)

  3. Oh, I love this! The simply patchwork style with the white framing is so crisp and lovely. I’m sure it will be used for a long long time.

Leave a Reply

