brown bunnies quilt

Firstly, don’t be fooled!  I am not some kind of strange two-days-per-project-no-matter-how-big-it-is girl.  I’ve been working on this for weeks.

After a final push to sew down the binding the last couple of days I’m calling it done.  My quilting teacher gently suggested that it might need a bit more…um….quilting, but in reality its not going to get used that much and I like the simplicity of the quilting as it is.  Any extra and it’ll ruin my nice ‘quilting lines through the points only’ look.  (I guess I could quilt round the centre squares but that would involve a whole lot more weaving in ends…)

The block is taken from a pattern in Material Obsession, a very pretty book by Kathy Doughty and Sarah Fielke.  And the fabric is two Moda jelly rolls worth, with a Moda bunnies print, in green in the centre of the blocks and in brown on the back.

I had intended to do the exact quilt in the book but as usual I got a bit carried away with one particular block, then decided to sash them all together with lots of leftover cream.  (I love an easy trick that makes a quilt bigger…)  The edging is just all the leftovers, going round and round until I ran out, it worked out nicely.

My mum’s visiting at the moment and she has given it her approval.  This block is her favourite.  My mum, “I like that one.  Its nice and restful.  That one would be nice over and over as a whole blanket.”

This is the first quilt I’ve made that I’m going to keep for myself – hurrah!  My favourite bit is the edging, in just three colours from the quilt to keep it simple, and because I ran out of burgundy early on.

I already have a patchwork top and bottom for the next one just to be layered and then its time to say goodbye to the feed dogs and try some free-motion quilting.  Yay!

3 thoughts on “brown bunnies quilt

  1. I am in awe of anyone who quilts – it looks exquisite . I am a wee bit confuddled by your teachers comment though, “a bit “more” quilting ? ” I am now imagining a quilt big enough for a giant! lol Mx

    • Oh she doesn’t mean the size, sorry! The quilting bit she’s talking about is the lines of sewing that go diagonally through the blocks, and through all 3 layers. If there’s not enough it can bunch up in the areas between the sewing lines but I like it the way it is 🙂

  2. Pingback: Penny’s quilt revealed…kinda… | sazmakes

Leave a Reply

