berries!

I’ve had a very busy week at home, and have been spending time with friends and turning a year older.  I’m noticing really obvious themes in the things I’m making.  Right now – berries!

Homemade scones with my blackcurrant and raspberry jam.  I can’t even tell you how good these were…

I’ve also seen the return of my Spinning Obsession, fueled partly by lots of lovely new fibre which arrived on my birthday.  To clear some bobbins, I finished spinning some Fyberspates BFL fibre in a lovely raspberry colour.  There’s about 350m of fingering/sport weight yarn here, enough for a small shawl from Miriam Felton’s new book Twist and Knit.

(Notice also my favourite new mug (another awesome birthday present).  Sheep!!)

And then my future knitting too – the extremely lovely Ysolda treated me to some Wollmeise for my birthday, in a raspberry colour.  This photo really doesn’t do it justice!

This will become a sweater at some point, probably something lovely that will be in Ysolda’s new book.  Yay!  And thank you lovely friends!

7 thoughts on “berries!

  1. Happy Birthday! I bet you are super happy with the gifts and what lovely colours they will make a lovely keepsake. The fyberspates fiber you spun looks so soft there yarns are a great treat 🙂 xx

  2. Happy birthday!! You have the same birthday as my sister! That Wollmeise looks AMAZING! Yum.

    But how I covet your berries! One day, Saz, one day I will have berry-bearing canes that will yield jam amounts. For now, I shall just have to make scones and settle for the stash of pick-your-own I’ve still got waiting to be used.

Leave a Reply

