the most impressive thing I’ve ever grown

Here it is!

I can’t even describe how excited I was when I discovered this growing under my hedge last week…  I did a dance and jumped about a bit, then Penny started jumping about because she knew something exciting had happened.  I sang a little song in the garden and Penny started whining.

I’ve tried to grow pumpkins every year and the best I’ve ever managed was a couple the size of golf balls which quickly rotted and fell off.  This year, I’d been keeping my eye on a much smaller one growing in the middle of the pumpkin patch, but accidentally snapped it off the plant when showing it off to Mr Saz.  It’s turning nice and orange in my kitchen though so will be good for carving at halloween.  This one though, is about six times the size – here is a (big) chicken for scale…

Bowie (the chicken, doesn’t she look like David Bowie?  Am I crazy?) didn’t seem that impressed…

(Also, now that I’ve taken a photo is doesn’t seem that impressive anymore, it’s better in real life!)

8 thoughts on “the most impressive thing I’ve ever grown

  1. I’ve never managed to grow anything, my plants/vegetables/herbs/flowers always always always die! I gave up years ago, but maybe I’ll give it another go. That pumpkin is very impressive, now I can’t stop thinking of all the neat things you can do with it. What are you planning on doing with it?

  2. What a spectacular pumpkin! Very gorgeous. Congrats on your growing skills. As for the Bowie chicken…yes, hit the nail on the head! This made me smile.

  3. I’ve never really been struck by the resemblance. But now I think about it… Ziggy Stardust? Aladdin Sane? Both, maybe. Lovely blog by the way – I’m impressed by the quilt (as well as the pumpkin). I keep wanting to have a go, but never quite manage anything more than a doll-size thing for the kids.

Leave a Reply

