how to knit a sweater in two days

The answer?….knit one for your dog!

I realise that this may take me into the realms of Crazy Dog Lady, but Penny has very short hair and shivers when we go out on frosty mornings.  Soon it will be frosty afternoons too so it was time to knit her a wee jumper.

The pattern is the very appropriately named Big Penny Sweater (ravelry link) from Doggie Knits by Corinne Niessner.  (Even if you don’t have a dog or ever plan on knitting for one, the picture on page 48 is reason enough to get a copy!)

I made a couple of mods – knitting the neck about three times longer so that it could turn over into a collar and not binding off for the back flap section, I just kept going until I ran out of yarn.  The yarn was nothing special – a 75% acrylic and 25% wool blend, but hey, this is for my dog and I’m being realistic.  This thing is going to get covered in mud.

So far I think she likes it.  She definitely seemed warmer and makes no attempt to take it off, she completely ignores it actually.  Success!

4 thoughts on “how to knit a sweater in two days

Leave a Reply

