my new garden

My new garden has a few fruit trees, and while we missed most of it, the pears are ready.  The pear tree is higher than the house I think and has dramatically dropped every pear in the last few days.  They’re not good for eating fresh, but are tasty in crumbles and pies.

This is where I plan to start the vegetable garden next year.  As you can probably tell the previous owners didn’t like gardening much (though apparently they did enjoy sitting in it!)  Just behind where this photo was taken is a patch which I intend to cover in fruit bushes, and which the chickens are currently fertilizing for me.

As expected for the time of year, the garden is full of dead things.  I can’t wait to see what happens in spring when life comes back…

Technically not my garden as this is the view from the back fence, and the one we get from our bedroom window.  Sheep and cows share this field and come quite close to our garden.  I am looking forward to the day I get say hello up close.

Our garden has some delightful wee buildings – a greenhouse and a half, a big shed, woodshed, bird boxes as well as lots of compost bins.  If you have any idea what this could be please let me know – my dad has this plant too and we did cut open a fruit once but it didn’t seem either tasty or edible.  This is definitely three fruits stuck together, the rest on the bush are all on their own.

 

9 thoughts on “my new garden

  1. What a fabulous place. I do hope to have a small hobby farm one day, or at least a backyard big enough for some chickens and a garden. I can’t wait to see what your garden turns into!

  2. Wow, looks like a great garden for you to work on. I live in a city, and often forget how nice it is to be surrounded by green. Must be so nice. I can’t wait to see what it looks like in spring!

  3. A beautiful lot you have!! I love living in the country and being surrounded by space…I live about 25 minute drive from the nearest city…. so quite and peaceful.

    Congrats on the move, they can be tough but a change of scenery is always good!!

Leave a Reply

