sunshine cushions

Literally five minutes ago I wove in the ends on the last of my Christmas knitting for this year.  Because I started back in August, my gift crafting has been quite a calm affair and I’ve managed to resist the temptation to add on lots of last minute things.

Getting our new house ready for Christmas has been a completely different thing, we have a lot of family arriving tomorrow to spend the holidays in our new home and I’m trying to contain my excitement.  I’ve made a few things to furnish it (and have plans for much, much more), but I particularly liked these –

A couple of little log cabin cushions, a reminder of my dream to one day make a Sunshine Medallions Quilt, in the exact same colours.  This is the room my grandparents will be staying in when they visit our house for the first time tomorrow.  My gran is a fantastic knitter, sewer and an inspirational crafty lady and it seemed important to me that there was something lovely and handmade in here.

I wasn’t too sure about these while piecing but somehow the little quilting I did seemed to bring it all together.  Some of the plain yellow comes from fabric that needs to become curtains for this room, sometime in the next 12 hours…eek!

7 thoughts on “sunshine cushions

  1. They look amazing! I don’t think you need to contain your excitement, the family over to your first house is a big deal! Have a great Christmas and look forward to more of your craftiness in 2011.

  2. These little cushions are so pretty, I’m sure you grandmother will have been impressed. I love log cabin pattern, I have seen some in knitting recently, might try it myself!
    x c

  3. Pingback: freebird quilt | sazmakes

  4. they’re beautiful. I’m gearing up for my first quilted cushions and these are quite inspirational! I’m sure your grandmother adored them!

Leave a Reply

