spinning to knit?

I signed up for a couple of crafting challenges this year.  The first began in the Yarn Yard group on Ravelry – some people decided that to get back into spinning (or just to do it more) they’d set themselves a monthly goal.  I’m aiming to spin up 100g a month in a bid to reduce my fibre stash a bit.  A trip to Woolfest a couple of years ago coincided with me having A Serious Spinning Bug and I stocked up.  It’s all still sitting there.

When I spin I like to have an idea of what I want to knit or crochet with the finished yarn.  This gives me an idea of how fine to spin and what kind of plying method to use.  However, I do have a weakness for multi-coloured fibre, which isn’t that sensible since I hardly ever knit with multi-coloured yarn.  It’s really fun to spin though – its entertaining and pretty on the bobbins, and its easy to see the difference that using different methods of plying can make.

For January I started with this, 100g of hand-painted Shetland, my absolute favourite fibre to spin.

By doing a little each night it’s finished, and is now a nice bouncy 140m of aran-ish weight yarn.  I navajo plied this so it should gently stripe when knitted.

Only thing though, is I can’t think of anything to do with it.  It’s very nice, but if I’m being honest I’m not going to knit this up.  So, if you’d like it you can have it!  Just leave a comment and I’ll pick someone at random on Sunday.  This is the last of my multi-coloured fibre now, I just need to resist the temptation to get more!

23 thoughts on “spinning to knit?

  1. I love how Penny ends up in so many of your photos. She never leaves your side, does she? What a faithful doggy. Your handspun is gorgeous. The colors are so pretty. Oh, to be so lucky!

  2. I would love the knit with this, thanks for the opportunity! I have to agree with Monica, I just love how Penny is in most of your photos. It always puts a big smile on my face 🙂

  3. What beautiful soft shades. And Penny is very sweet!

    I only started following your blog a couple of days ago and I’m really enjoying your posts. Thanks for offering the gorgeous yarn.

    Laura x

  4. Really?! It’s gorgeous, could be great for mittens or a hat. Quite lovely and I think I need to impose a monthly spinning goal for myself as I too have so much fiber stashed.

  5. I like to think of this pretty yarn knitted up as long wristwarmers with a simple lace pattern. Perhaps I should follow your example and spin a little each night for a couple of weeks?

  6. Aaaw it’s gorgeous, and I love that you spun something in a heavier weight, it seems that most home spinners end up spinning lace-weights, which I don’t use at all… I’d love a chance to get creative with this!

  7. The colours are absolutely fabulous! And even in a photograph I can tell how soft it is. Lots of ideas here for something to make – I think wrist warmers would be good too.

    C x

  8. I’m wondering what to do with the variegated I have in my stash as well. I, too, tend to knit with solids or semi-solids. Your Haruni actually has inspired me to spin some purple merino in my stash and then knit it into a Haruni!

  9. Saz, you’re really generous! The yarn is gorgeous and it is even more when you think in the time you’ve spent spinning it in a so lovely way!

Leave a Reply

