Soay

I don’t seem to blog much about my knitting, I figure that since its all on Ravelry I don’t want to be too repetitive.  This newly finished cardigan though is a bit more exciting than normal.  Here is Soay

This is the new design by my buddy Gudrun Johnston, which I was lucky enough to be asked to test knit.  It’s knit in the very beautiful and oh-i-must-get-more Quince & Co Chickadee, a sportweight American wool.  There are so many gorgeous colours in this yarn but since I have no blue sweaters (and I am in my blue phase still) I went for the Bird’s Egg colourway.

It’s knit from the bottom up, backwards and forward to the armholes, then the front left and right, and back are worked separately and seamed at the shoulders.  Stitches round the sleeves are then picked up and knit down seamlessly with short rows to shape the sleeve cap.  I just love this kind of construction – it’s not too complex but there is always something interesting going on.

From the minute I started this I worked on nothing else, it came everywhere with me for just four days until it was finished.  I knit it in the car, in a restaurant, in cafes, and while chatting with family and cuddling Penny.

It’s lightweight but warm, spring-like and happy, and I think I’ve worn it every day since I finished.  Turns out I have a lot of blue, teal and grey dresses that never had knitwear to match!

And the pattern is now available for all!  I am seriously considering making another one in handspun grey wool (maybe with some alpaca?) with long sleeves.  Hmmm….

4 thoughts on “Soay

  1. That is a really lovely cardigan and you look great in it! One of these days I’m going to knit a ‘proper’ garment and not just socks and hats!

Leave a Reply

