freebird quilt

I’ve just had my most productive crafting week ever – it turns out that (a little obviously!) when I have a few days off work and no internet I can get quite a bit done.  I got a few things finished and a few things started, so I’ll try and show everything over the next few days.

First up is my freebird quilt – pieced and quilted a few weeks ago and finally gifted to my lovely buddy yesterday for her new home.

It’s a really simple crazy log cabin, made from Freebird by Momo for Moda fabrics, with a little Kona Snow as sashing and then some more Moda as backing, along with the leftovers and a little pieced house.  (The green strip along the right-hand side of the backing is because I made a mistake with the measurements and didn’t have enough green backing.  I like it though!)

And I hid a little chicken in it, though it’s a bit hard to spot…

I’m afraid I didn’t take a note of any dimensions, but its a good-sized lap quilt.  The strips were sewn together at wonky angles and then trimmed to 12″ square (I think).  I took ages to decide on the quilting, but in the end went for straight lines following the path of the log cabin, similar to the quilting I did on my Sunshine Cushions last year.  And my buddy seems to like it – happy new home Nikki!

4 thoughts on “freebird quilt

  1. Just surfing via Rav, and I found your post. I LOVE this. I grew up in a town that has a big yearly quilt show, and quilts always remind me of home. Lovely job!

    (If you want a bit of gorgeous eye candy, here’s my hometown’s museum – there’s some spectacular work there! http://www.quiltmuseum.org/)

  2. that’s really wonderful. I’m so impressed. Even the strip of green works really well – working out those dimensions is a bit fiddly. I’m still learning!

  3. is there any chance of getting a pattern for the crazy log cabin square? I can’t seem to find a pattern and can’t so it without one and love this one!

Leave a Reply

