too much?

Usually I am a typical knitter when I travel and fill half my suitcase with yarn, and then never touch most of it.  Last time though, back in January I came close to running out and was actually forced to cast on with souvenir purchases – eek!

On Monday I go off on a wee work trip, to meet up with Ysolda, go to Squam(!) and then onto TNNA in Ohio.  I started planning what to take.  These are only the new projects, there are several WIPS coming along as well…

The top left, clockwise, – dark blue home-dyed sock for Parade, a skein of Wollmeise Merino Sock for Solan, two skeins of Fyberspates Scrumptious 4ply for a Honeybee Cardigan, two skeins of Quince & Co Chickadee for some Mirry Dancers, and a skein of Ripples Sock for Stricken, the June pattern in the Knit.Sock.Love knit-a-long.

And already on my needles and packed is a large cream Ishbel, a pair of Rhombus in my green sock yarn dyed at Old Maiden Aunt, and my Laar.

And then already in my suitcase…my almost completed Laika, a new pattern from Little Red in the City.  I couldn’t posssibly be any happer with this sweater – the fit is perfect, the yarn is lovely and it’s really fun to make.  I’ve only got the sleeves to go but I’m leaving this until I arrive as it’s a bit much to take on the plane.  Already I’m planning another one, in Yarn Yard Clan, with a narrower band and zipper…

It seems like a lot, and it is, but jetlag gives me so many more awake hours in the day I figure I’d better be prepared!

3 thoughts on “too much?

  1. Sounds like a PERFECT amount of knitting, and very lovely projects! The Laika is looking amazing! Have fun!

  2. Sounds like a lovely assortment of projects. I am going to be going backpacking soon for a couple of months and have already started to think about what to take. Something good for sitting by a lake but then also for those 24 hour bus rides. I am also worried about running out. Will check out your suggestions!

Leave a Reply

