knots

Since I got back from the US yesterday I’ve spent most of my time with family, my dogs, and unpacking into my brand-new kitchen.  While forcing myself to stay awake though I finished off my embroidery project from Squam Art Workshops

I started this in my Embroidered Knots class with the lovely Rebecca Ringquist, and managed to take home another three samplers from the art fair.  During my time at Squam I knit only a little, but instead worked on this in class, sitting on the dock and in the evening.  I didn’t have much to do to finish it off, just the large chain-stitched knot in the centre, a little machine stitching to keep the borders together, adding a backing and binding.

I’m still feeling very tired from the traveling so this post will be a little short on words (if you have any questions about it leave a comment and I will reply when I’m more awake!) – all I mean to say is that Rebecca Ringquist is wonderful (go see her website!), I loved stitching this and have plans for more projects.  Next, I will embroider a cake…!

8 thoughts on “knots

  1. It is gorgeous! I love hand embroidery so much. For some reason it seems even more of an heirloom to me than knitting is. I haven’t embroidered in years. Maybe I should go dig out that 2nd half-finished pillowcase, eh? Thanks for sharing your beautiful, inspiring work!

  2. I love the colors and the sashes you’ve chosen. It’s a lovely piece. I’m looking forward to seeing your cake! FYI: There are a couple cool cakes in Aimee Ray’s Doodle Stitching: the Motif Collection.

  3. Wow, Sarah! I know this is an older post. But this sampler is beautiful! I just joined CreativeBug and watched one of Rebecca’s workshops for her Original Sampler. I am really intrigued and might order the pattern and give it a go on my own. I did some googling of Rebecca’s work and found this blog post. Funny! You’re just so multi-talented. I don’t think I’ve ever seen you attempt a craft that you didn’t perfect.

    Hope all is well with you and the little one 🙂 She is so so sweet. I really hope I’ll get to meet her one day.

Leave a Reply

