cake in progress

Work has been continuing on my cake sampler by Rebecca Ringquist, and then at midnight inspiration decided it was the right time to start to machine stitch the border –

Often when I work suddenly late at night I undo everything the next day, but I really like this.  I was struggling to work with the pink background, but the border seems to bring the hand-stitching and backing fabric together (there’s more pink in the fabric than this photo suggests!)

Then I felt the need to embroider some text at the bottom…

…which meant spending a very happy five minutes looking at cake recipes on the internet.

I think this will be done in the next couple of days, and then its onto my next Cake Themed Craft Project – this cross-stitch pattern from Defiant Damsel on Etsy

The only problem is that I have some storage issues for my embroidery supplies – any ideas?!  Maybe just being less messy is the answer?

5 thoughts on “cake in progress

Leave a Reply

