sweater three – Laar

Another one finished!  I am so, so happy with this little cardigan.  I can’t believe that when I cast on earlier this year I thought I could knit it in a week and wear it with my Rooibos dress for a big family party.  I think I must have hatched this plan after a knit night when excess cake and hot chocolate was affecting my brain…

In the end it didn’t take that long and I did knit most of the body in just a few days.  But it came off the needles so I could work on something else (Laika, maybe?) and fell to the bottom of my basket.  Finally finished though, it is perfect.  I love the length, the colour, the style, the fit, the buttons, and how beautifully light and soft it feels.

The yarn is Old Maiden Aunt Merino Laceweight, and the pattern is Gudrun‘s, from Shetland Trader Book 1.  I just wish I had finished this sooner, hopefully I’ll get some chances to wear it before the weather turns.

Other sweater progress:
Arielle – finished!  It’s soaking, so pictures will follow soon.

Now that I am FREE from my four simultaneous sweater projects, I am indulging in Levenwick, in Shelter.  Never before have I purposefully knit a sweater s l o w l y – the making of this is so lovely I want it to last for as long as possible.  Ah…

And thank you for all the nice comments about my swatching – I’m going with my instinct (and fridica‘s advice), that the contrast between the body colour and the natural BFL is a bit much, so I’m going to hunt for something more subtle before I cast on.

6 thoughts on “sweater three – Laar

  1. Gorgeous! Looks like it will make a lovely spring/summer cardy.; just what I could do with now we’re approaching spring down here in the southern hemisphere. Might need to add another project to the needles…

Leave a Reply

