blue

My little dye kit came out again this weekend, and this –

Became this –

The fibre is a cashmere and finn blend which was passed to me by a knitting but non-spinning friend who’d received it as a gift.  I handpainted the undyed fibre with splashes of a blues, jade and grey, and the overdyed the thing with a grey/jade mixture.  And the best thing is that I have not ruined it and ended up with a felted rope like last time…

I have a project in mind for this, I plan to spin it up as fine as I can, navajo ply it and turn it into a shawl.  The pattern I’ll use needs good yardage, so I dyed up a little mini braid at the same time as backup.  It’s very cute.

And to change the subject completely….

Yesterday we said goodbye to our beautiful old girl LadyBug.  She was 17 years old, and we know that her last 4 years since we took her in from the Dog’s Trust were happy ones.  Knowing this doesn’t seem to help though, and I feel as if there is a big hairy black/grey hole in our family.  Rescuing elderly dogs seems was becoming a habit so this isn’t the first time we’ve had to go through this, and being a crazy dog lady I’m sure it won’t be the last.  Right now I am sticking to tea, chocolate, knitting stocking stitch in the round and hugging Penny.

xx

 

13 thoughts on “blue

  1. Losing Ladybug almost made me cry…we lost our young collie in April and now that the kids are back in school, I’ve been missing my walking buddy fiercely. I never thought losing a pet would be as painful as it is. I’ll keep you in my thoughts!

  2. I’m so sorry for the loss of ladybug – reading that made me cry. I’m like you and love dogs too. What a lovely wee face. Thinking of you as I know what it’s like to lose a much loved fur-baby.
    Take care,
    Kelly.

  3. I’m so sorry – losing a pet hurts like hell. I have only had my first dog for 6 months, but I’ve said goodbye to 2 cats I loved dearly, and it’s so sad. Virtual hugs, and virtual doggy kisses from Cora, thinking of you and Ladybug x

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about Ladybug. Give yourself time to heal, and remember that being able to offer an elderly dog a happy and comfortable home is an incredible thing. My thoughts are with you, and pass on a hug to Penny for me.

  5. So sorry for your loss Sarah. May the goddess take her soul to Avalon so she may rise again when she is called for. You probably gave her the best years of her life and you need to cherish that thought. ❤ *hugs*

  6. So sorry for you. She was a beautiful dog and she could not have had a better home and life for her last years.

    I am a dog lady (and cat lady) too and know that life is full of goodbyes.

    Take care and I hope you will open your heart and home again!

  7. Pingback: handspun chickadee | sazmakes

Leave a Reply

