snowflakes and two colours

It seems like the knitting world is being overcome with snowflakes and pom poms at the moment.  I am very happy about this.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI jumped on the Snawheid pattern by Kate Davies (thank you, Kate!) and two days later I was making a massive pom pom and gleefully trying to solicit admiring comments from fellow dog walkers about my awesome hat.  No-one said anything, but I did see some stare at the top of my head.

It wasn’t enough.  I posted in Kate’s forum on Ravelry that I was going to clear my projects and stick to simple things until her new book came out.  Then I cast on for Boreal.  I can’t even tell you how happy this sweater makes me, I am obsessed.  I’m going to turn it into a cardigan though, since I seem to find those most useful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASince taking this picture I’ve finished the body to the armholes, attached the first sleeve and am working up the second.  I have lots of family coming this weekend but am sorely tempted to make them fend for themselves because I want to knit this sweater.

Aside from the snowflakes though, I’ve noticed that pretty much everything I’ve knit (or plan on knitting) recently uses two colours.   Evidence – Another Agnes, Blue-Eyed Susan, Kabouter, Geysir Stretch, Aurora Expanse.  Not sure why, maybe this is what happens as you run down your stash a little?  Not that I am short of yarn by any means…

It’s been a tricky week for some reason, but I have perked up thanks to thinking about future crafting happiness.  The first – I have good reason to believe that a lovely friend is sending an Embroidery Subscription from Rebecca Ringquist my way.  And the second – a while ago I appear to accidentally have signed up for a 3 month fibre club subscription from Hedegehog Fibres.  There a still a couple of places I think, and sign ups close soon.

Hope everyone has have a good weekend x

12 thoughts on “snowflakes and two colours

  1. 🙂 please let us know your secrets, how do you do these wonder in such a short time? :)) I love the hat and obviously I love pom-poms, they are so fun and make me think of my childhood.
    Love love love the gray-red together, Boreal is such a lovely design, I have it on my list… endless list at the moment.

    • ok, just read your answer about the speedy-knitting 😉 thanks for sharing your tips, and oh, I’m another one that knit in public often, also at my lunch pause at my Company’s Circle.

  2. So nice to have you blogging again, I’m one of the silent readers usually 🙂
    Anyway, I can’t wait to see your Boreal cardigan finished!!!!!

Leave a Reply

