a walk with penny

Working flexible hours from home is truly a wonderful thing.  It meant that today, as I sat at my desk with a nasty cold, I could just dress Penny in her little jumper and take her outside to try and clear my head.  We’re also heading towards the shortest day, which means that here normal office workers get to their work in the dark, and then watch the sun go down from their desks at 3.30pm.  I know it’s worse in further-north places, but it feels pretty grim.  Luckily I can soak up more daylight than most people.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASpot the dog in the above picture!  Penny got a little overexcited at this point, I think she could smell her best dog buddy Buster, and ran off chasing the scent.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAlso, while I am grateful that the winter has frozen the all the bogs (cleaner dog!), it does make things a little treacherous, leaving little ice sheets in places they shouldn’t be.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADespite my best efforts, Penny is yet to learn the command ‘stay still and look nice at the black thing your lady is pointing at you.’  She is a sensible dog and prefers to bury her head in bushes/tall grass/piles of rubbish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI think Penny is one of the most contented dogs in the world.  She runs about like a loon in the woods, sleeps in my office as I work and chases away grey squirrels in the garden.  And when she goes to stay with my in-laws, she gets human food of mince and potatoes for dinner.  Right now I’d like to swap places…

Next time – actual crafting content!

8 thoughts on “a walk with penny

  1. Penny looks incredibly stylish in that sweater and your post has made me realise how lucky I am to work from home half the time. I’m getting used to two days in an office.

  2. wonderful pics!! i love Penny’s sweater…color is great on her! i’m retired, so i knit at home… i LOVE to stay home!! i feel like i’m ‘working’ from home, altho knitting is not work!! haha
    ^)^ linda

Leave a Reply

