handspun hourglass

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis one took a while!  It started off as my Tour de Fleece project back in early summer, when I was looking for something to do with a big bump of pink shetland fibre from Jamieson and Smith.  My buddy Mel reminded me that our spinners guild has a drum carder for hire, so I jumped at the chance to play with a new toy…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI made many little piles of evenly divided fibre, carding the original pink shetland with bits of coloured merino, silk, and a purple merino/silk blend.  I ended up with a daunting pile of 15 batts for spinning, but they were little and I got through them pretty quickly.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI loved the finished result – 5 skeins of a DKish weight true 3ply yarn.  Rustic and wooly, but soft at the same time, with lovely subtle colour variation.

On the day the Olympics started, I cast on for a Hourglass Throw by Anne Hanson, from Wool People Vol.1.  I worked away slowly, enjoying every stitch, and spending more time spreading out the blanket and admiring it than actually working on it.  But then my life turned crappy and I put it aside, not picking it up again until a few weeks ago when I finally finished spinning the last batt.  I tried to cheat the yardage by adding an extra repeat, but I was beaten and had to cut short the final ribbing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt’s beautiful, and perfect lap blanket size.  The problem I have though is that I put so much meaning into my crafting, associating everything I make with what I was doing or where I was at the time that I made it.  Every time I look at it I think to myself, ‘oh, it’s so pretty, it was so much work but totally worth it, but oh yeah, it’s what I was making when awful things happened, remember that Saz?’  And so, after I took photos of it draped on my mum last week, I left it with her, where it has found a very lovely and appreciative home, and where I know it will be treasured.

Also – thank you for all your nice comments on my last post about Penny’s jumper.  The pattern is actually called ‘Big Penny Sweater’ from the book Doggie Knits by Corinne Neisssner and is ravelled here.  As you can see from the photo above, Penny is Chief Protector of my mum.  I’m sure that my mum reminds her of her previous owner, and her love of her was instant.  Whenever we’re visiting she is permanently at my mum’s feet, and sneaks out of her bed to wait at her bedroom door in the morning.  Only when she’s sure my mum isn’t going anywhere, does she move a metre away to here –

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI hope you all have a good week!

9 thoughts on “handspun hourglass

  1. Beautiful blanket! I am sorry that it reminds you of sad times, but your mum will have cozy thoughts of you when she uses it and you can probably visit it and have a snuggle once in a while.

  2. I am totally empathetic to moods from objects, and that if your hardwon crafting was tainted by what was going on in your life, it’s great you left it with someone who would have nothing but happiness about it. You astound me and your very intricate spinning… true 3 ply.. I know that , and the fact that you carded the bats all by yourself on that drum carder was also a lot of work. Mum is a great person to deserve having that throw, as just think of the work she put into raising you 😉

  3. The blanket is beautiful, but I understand exactly what you mean about the events around the making of an object altering how you perceive it. I have a shawl that started life while I was going through a horrendous experience, and only redeemed itself because it was made to be a bridesmaid for my best friend, which has given it back some positive meaning. I think gifting the blanket is the perfect solution, and I hope completing it and moving it on helps on some small level with closure/moving on from the crappy bit of life it started up in x

Leave a Reply

