my favourite sweater

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAUrsula is finished.  I love her.  I loved spinning her yarn (the three contrast colours).  I loved thinking about making her and what it would be like to wear her.  I loved knitting her, steeking her, finishing her, and even sewing woven ribbon on the buttonbands.  And now I love wearing her, but I miss the fun of creating her a little.  Thank you Kate for a joyous design!  I’m sure I’ll be making this again in colours more similar to the original.

Next up – a Puffin Sweater, again in very un-puffin-like colours and completely in handspun this time.   I believe that a pile of gotland fibre I forgot I ordered may be waiting for me at the post office, I think its a sign that I need to get started.

In truth though, my knitting is taking a bit of a backseat at the moment.  I decided that a very large project has been in progress for far too long.  Something is telling me it’s time for it to be done, out of my life, and into the life of the people I’ve made it for.  I’ve set a crazy deadline for its completion and am filled with determination.  If all goes well and my fingers hold out I’ll be back at my spinning wheel by Wednesday.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

11 thoughts on “my favourite sweater

  1. That is art in wearable format. I’m wildly impressed with the dedication needed to spin enough yarn for a jumper; I’ve only ever got enough for a pair of socks!

Leave a Reply

