swoon!

Even today, after this quilt has found its new home on my grandparent’s bed, I can’t actually believe I finished it…here is Swoon –

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’ve wanted to make a quilt for my grandparents ever since I first started sewing.  They are great appreciators of all handmade things, and my gran in particular is an awesome knitter and sewer.  So their quilt had to be special.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I played around with a few ideas over the last couple of years, and thought I’d settled on a postage stamp design.  I took the fact that the bit of it I made had to been pinned my wall for months with no desire to do anything with it as a sign that it wasn’t working out, and I chopped it up and turned it into potholders.

When I came across Swoon by Camille Roskelley it seemed like the perfect thing.  The top came together in May and June 2012, and then the sashing was added sometime that summer.  I wrestled with wadding and a very uncooperative backing fabric in August, and then it was put away until I figured out what to do next.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At some point around then I came across a picture of another swoon, which was hand-quilted around the points and in the white space.  (I can no longer find this photo/blog post – if anyone thinks they might know who else did this please let me know so I can add a link to them!…)  I loved this look but didn’t fancy the idea of all the constant turning of what felt like ten tons of fabric through my sewing machine.  I put it away again.

Then, something awful happened.  The next day I was left alone for a little bit and needed something, anything to do with my hands that was pretty and comforting but didn’t require much actual thinking or decision making, but that would distract my mind a little.  I pulled out swoon and started hand-quilting it.  The warmth of it was comforting, and it gave me something to focus on.  Over the next few weeks though I put it away again, a bit overwhelmed by the sheer size of it, and how long hand-quilting it was actually going to take.  (The only other thing I’d ever hand-quilted was these pot holders a few months before.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Over the last few weeks though I’ve been feeling the urge not specifically to stitch it, but to be able to give it to my grandparents.  Which obviously, was going to require actually working on it.  There were some late nights involved, sore arms and the skin on my thumb and index finger hasn’t recovered yet.  But it was totally worth it.  As I pulled it out of the dryer, literally 5 minutes before leaving to visit my grandparents, I danced like a loon, still completely surprised that I actually finished it.  Yay!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd yep, they really, really liked it x

The details –
Swoon by Camille Roskelley
stitched April 2012 – March 2013

  • machine pieced
  • machine quilted in the ditch around the blocks (mainly to try and tame my unruly backing fabric), hand-quilted around the points and in the inside white space
  • top fabric is some random fat quarters, many of them from m is for make and kona snow
  • backing is something random (possibly vintage?) that was given to me by my LQS owner when an elderly customer of hers passed away, and which had been in her stash
  • hand-bound in Flea Market Fancy by Denise Schmidt
17 thoughts on “swoon!

  1. That is such a wonderful gesture. It a time when sometimes it seems as it the elderly are not appreciated as they should be, your grandparents must feel so very loved.

  2. Absolutely gorgeous. I really want to learn to quilt, but my first step is learning how to clean a very old and dirty sewing machine.

  3. I’m not the one that usually comments on things, or posts for that matter… but this is just absolutely fantastic! I love the fact that you took the time to work on it so slowly, it makes the gift even more precious – especially to those that understand the work and time and can appreciate it, which I’m sure your grandparents will!
    Also, love how your sweet dog peeks over the edge 🙂

  4. Pingback: busy doing nothing | Purple Patch

  5. Omg! MOG! You rock SAZ! This quilt is gorgeous. I love vintage style quilts. I just bought my first fabrics yesterday to make my first very simple squares quilt. I’m so excited! You inspire me!

Leave a Reply

