sniffing out spring

So according to the calendar it’s spring.  The snow might have gone but I’m not so sure.  Penny and I went hunting for evidence.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAA worm buddy!  I love worms.  I wish there were more of them in my garden and I’m working on it.  I picked this one up and put it into the grass, to make it less likely to be snaffled by a bird – is that the wrong thing to do?  It seemed grateful, I think.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALambs!  I was getting worried, usually I can hear them bleating when I let out the chickens, but nothing so far.  Turns out they’re just in a different field this year, and all is fine.  I couldn’t get that close without spooking them, but the muncher above was totally uninterested in me or Penny.  Clearly the grass was too tasty.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy garden!  I spent the weekend in the front garden carrying out what felt like an archeological dig.  Clearing away 15 years worth of dead plants was a big task.  I found a rockery, paths, and these lovely daffodils which have been flowering every year under a mass of dead branches.  It feels like I haven’t even scratched the surface, but the two-car loads of weeds I took to the community recycling centre tells me otherwise.  (I am starting to make friends with the guys who work there.  I love too that they take away my weeds and stuff I don’t want to compost, and then give me free compost in return.)  I am utterly determined that this will be the year my garden will be returned to former glories.  I’ve heard that 15 years ago it was loved and a thing of beauty, but the previous owners obviously neglected it, and did nothing but cut the grass occasionally.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANew plants for my doorstep…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis might look like a picture of soil.  I guess it does, really.  But right in the centre, that teeny tiny speak of green is actually a baby carrot!  I had one good carrot year back in 2006(?), and have had no success since then, struggling even to get them to germinate.  I have a good feeling about this year…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOut of the 100+ teeny seedlings in my greenhouse, this little cauliflower is my favourite.  Something about the way it stands seems so earnest, and it looks like it waves to me whenever I go in.  It’s so friendly.

Our local ice-cream man says that May is going to be a hot month.  It doesn’t feel like it, but he is wise and all-knowing, so I’m choosing to believe him and be optimistic.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

10 thoughts on “sniffing out spring

  1. Beautiful pictures and I love being able to walk through your garden, even though I’m so far away. We have lots of signs of Spring here in Ohio…magnolia, cherry, and ornamental trees are in bloom, the grass is a bright green, and leaves are returning to the bushes and trees outside. 🙂

  2. It’s definitely starting to feel like spring with the lighter evenings and the warmer sunshine. I hope all your plants appreciate the hard work and do some good growing for you this year 🙂

    • I think you have to feed the soil. If you have a compost heap and put it on earth (as opposed to concrete which is what we did wrong) the worms will come up into the compost and eat it and break it down. Spread the compost on your soil and there you go! (or something like that). Sorry, I am taking over here.

Leave a Reply

