back again

It feels like its been a while.  Sometimes I just don’t feel like blogging and I don’t feel bad about that.  Hello again.

This most recent absence though is more to do with an almost entire lack of crafting to share.  I didn’t just lose my knitting mojo this summer, my spinning, dressmaking and quilting mojo’s all flew out of the window too.  There were no major house projects to occupy me, or big changes in the garden.  I’ve just been living quietly and my brain’s been a little full of worry to fit anything else in.  (The worry is easing a little now.  There was nothing particular to worry about, just the prospect of something bad happening.  So far, it hasn’t.   Right now, things are fine. But when terrible things have happened to you before sometimes its hard to shake the worry away.)  Sorry if that’s a little cryptic.  I have no secrets but am a little shy and cautious.  I might talk about things more here when I’m ready.  In the meantime, if you’re on Ravelry, this knitting project helps explain it.

And onto the making!  Pretty much the only thing I worked on through my worry was my Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery monthly sampler.  I worked on it a little back in January and then stopped, so I had a lot of months to catch up on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think progress (and so the fact that I made anything at all) should be credited to my good buddy Bex.  She’s working on the same thing, alongside lots of other beautiful embroidery pieces, and she made me want to reach for my hoop.

Just in the last couple of days I’ve felt my knitting mojo starting to nudge me a little.  Maybe something to do with a trip to a new yarn shop?  I cast on for a Wee Brock for a friend* as soon I was home and fed.  I can feel that obsessed-with-a-new-project feeling coming on.  Hopefully it’ll lead to another one…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

*This friend is a Mr Saz’s cousin, who has an adorable little two-year old.  She doesn’t knit, but always seems to be appreciative of handknitted things, and she got a lot from the ladies at her work (and me) when her daughter was born.  But as new babies have been born, her supply dwindled.  I randomly knit a little cardigan and it was passed to her, and I didn’t hear much, apart from ‘she says thank you, she loved it’ from my mother-in-law.  Then, a couple of weeks ago I was in a different town and randomly walked into her and her little girl.  Her daughter was not only wearing the cardigan but she was snuggled up it, it was covered in bits of the biscuit she’d been eating and wow, it looked like it had been loved.  I could see her looking embarrassed that it looked a little messy but all I could think was ‘You get more knitwear for your little one.  You get ALL THE KNITWEAR for your little one.’  Seeing the things I’ve made look used and loved is one of the best feelings ever.

I’m not ready to talk about the time I was in my sister’s house and spotted the huge quilt I’d made her scrunched up her dog’s basket.  It might have looked used and loved, but it gave me the opposite feeling…

9 thoughts on “back again

  1. I love the sampler. Thanks for linking to the yarn shop – it’s literally round the corner from my parents so I’ll be having a look the next time I’m over from Germany! Happy knitting – lovely colour and it sounds like you’ve found the perfect reason to get back into it!

  2. Lovely to see you’re back, I always enjoy your blog & seeing all the lovely things you make!
    Love your Cradle Cardigan by the way 🙂 hope the worrying eases off soon – it’s bloody awful.

  3. Dear Sarah,

    I never commented on your blog before but now I really want to say that I’m so very happy for you. I hope whatever happened in the past won’t be able to influence the present, but I do get the worrying. My mum had lot’s of problems with her pregnancies which caused a tremendous pain both physically and mentally. I keep everything crossed for you that things go well and I hope you’re soon to be a proud and happy mum!

    And I agree, I love to see hand knits so well loved! And I would indeed tell my brother a thing or two if I saw that something I made for him ended up in a dog basket 😉

  4. Ooo that looming fear of something bad about to happen has been plaguing me for a few weeks now. I get that. It’s terrible and consuming and generally just makes you feel yucky. I’m crossing my fingers things will go well for us both and the bad juju goes away soon.

    I love, love, love your cradle cardigan. Best wishes to you and your little lovey for the future 🙂 I can’t wait to see what other wee things you knit. Have you seen the new cardigan with the sheep around the yoke? It’s the sweetest thing I’ve seen in a long time.

    I love that sampler. I bought it earlier this year and was eager to start it (my first one!), but never did. The Frosted Pumpkin Halloween one might just get me off the ground running.

  5. Quiet congrats – I know the worries well too, and when things finally worked out it took a long time for them to die down. Might it also interest you to know that I completely lost my knitting and crafting mojo until about 3rd trimester? it was WEIRD. Glad to hear it might be on the turn for you!

  6. I found your blog looking at your beautiful handspun sweaters on Ravelry:) I have 8 kids and still cry over the miscarriage I had16 years ago. It does get better with time. Really.

Leave a Reply

