ramblings on a monday

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We just returned from a fun, but exhausting, little trip.  A trip to visit family living in London, which includes our two year-old niece.  We don’t see her often, but what struck me was how much I love her. It just amazed me how much you can love a child that isn’t your own.  She is 10 months older than Alana, so its fun to see what’s, um, coming up.  And also get some clues as to what toys and activities our girl will be drawn to, we get to try everything out.  Alana spent most of the time in their house sitting at the little toddler table and chairs, straining to reach for the markers.  And so our table and chairs arrives tomorrow.

Another fun thing about our trip was the chance to go shopping and plan some new projects.  Although I knit less these days, I still buy yarn but am pretty good at buying for particular projects and then actually making the thing soon after.  Thanks to Ray Stitch and Loop my girl will soon be getting some mustard cord dungarees, and a Caribou cardigan. Its amazing too how quickly you can browse, decide and buy in a craft shop with a toddler in tow. Five minutes in each shop, and it was done.

I got back to some happy mail, some shiny new blended fibre from HilltopCloud.  At the start of the month I signed up for the Tour de Fleece, got incredibly excited about it, and then as always, gave up after a couple of days. This time I’m blaming my tools – my fibre stash isn’t very big and each thing I tried spinning was a bit rubbish.  Then I managed to spin some beautiful Hedgehog Fibres merino and made maybe the worst skein of yarn ever.  All a bit demoralising.  So I treated myself to something new, and this time it’s lovely.  I’m going to spin for a true 3-ply, to keep a nice depth to all the different fibres and colours.

Soon I want to write here about parenting.  Every day I find myself keeping quiet about my parenting views in some situation or another.  What we do works for us and we seem to be raising a fairly happy child, but I keep quiet I think because of some deep-down embarrassment or fear that I’ll be told that I’m doing it wrong.  Or maybe, because I don’t want other people to think I disapprove of their very-different methods.  Which is ridiculous really, we all do the best we can.

7 thoughts on “ramblings on a monday

  1. Ooooh lovely plans! I know what you mean about being able to yarn and fabric shop at high speed, I’ve always wondered whether it was having the kids with me or just experience now I know what I like. Your fibre looks lovely too, my spinning wheel has been neglected these past few years as my little people find it irresistible to touch! And yes definitely write about parenting. I started writing mostly knitting and now it’s mostly parenting and even though I know there are probably people who read who think I’m wrong from both angles we’re all adults trying our best for our very particular families.

  2. We all worry we’re doing it wrong. I used to worry that everyone was coping better and more relaxed than me and then my friend (who appeared to be laid back and confident) said she worried the same so it dawned on me that everyone else must be too. I felt a lot better then!

  3. That lovely blue colour! I tend to stay quiet about what i think to be right with my baby because i feel being a “proper” parent is something so instinctive…

  4. We necessarily parent our kids very differently, and it took me a long while to get past other people’s opinions. I still find it hard sometimes. We do what’s right for our family, as I’m sure you do, and surely that’s what really matters. 🙂 It’s hard work to walk against the current!

  5. I would love to hear some parenting blogging. I am most certainly doing things wrong all the time despite my best efforts. I know what you mean though, people can tend to be so judgmental when it comes to parenting topics, but if you might as well put yourself out there and see what happens. I know I would love to know how things work for others.

Leave a comment