a quiet friday

IMG_0674

 

IMG_0671IMG_0669
IMG_0668
IMG_0663
IMG_0661
IMG_0659
IMG_0660
IMG_0656
IMG_0673
How can it be Friday already?  It’s been a good week, and what feels like a productive one.  Alana is sleeping well at night so I no longer hunt and hope for a afternoon nap, and a nice daytime routine is forming.  The weather is lovely today so we took Penny for a surprise lunchtime walk.  Its so nice to be on these same paths as always, pass the same dog walkers and even walk past the tree I held onto while feeling the first contractions of labour.  All is the same, but now there are three of us breathing the spring air.  Walkers I haven’t seen for a while come rushing up to meet our girl and tuck money into her knitwear, a local tradition that I find bemusing, but sweet.

Friday is becoming a day of quiet here.  I was thinking today about what how different it is, going from spending my days with only my pup, to having another tiny human at home and always with me.  It’s a wonderful adjustment, but an adjustment all the same.  And so we are enjoying it today, with baby naps and snuggles, and our new trick – feeding in the sling, on the move, and taking pictures of it at the same time! (the last photo).  We’ve been trying it at home this week, and when Alana got thirsty on the walk, she just latched on and we kept on going.  Penny was grateful, Alana (and her mama) were happy and none of the other dog walkers looked twice.

 

3 thoughts on “a quiet friday

  1. What a wonderful walk, I adore the picture of your shadows with the tiny hand extended up, feeling the air and the sunshine. What beautiful cardigan she’s wearing too.

    Hello Penny, you look like you’re having a good time! Isn’t this time of spring becoming summer wonderful?

  2. What a beautiful day! And I salute your skills – I’ve never worked out quite how to nurse in the sling and it sounds like it makes life very easy going!

Leave a comment